Book Reviews
World Building



User Rating: 0 (0 votes)

This was a well-written story by a seasoned author who knows how to weave a compelling story. The premise is intriguing and not something done ad nauseam in the YA genre. The basic concept of the story is that Marguerite, the young daughter of physicist parents, is able to travel between different dimensions by using a device called a Firebird and, once there, can take residence in the body of her alternate self. The possible existence of multiverses is explained very well to enlighten even those not familiar with the concept—although I will say some might feel it’s dumb-down and perhaps, at times, important points are brushed off by the characters saying things like “but I don’t really care how that works,” which is done one too many times.

What I enjoyed most was Gray’s ability to seamlessly put together 6 different universes and take us back and forth from futuristic settings to historical ones with hardly a glitch. She does a good job explaining the world’s technology or lack of it, and makes you appreciate the research that must have gone in the effort.

The romance element was very good on one side of the triangle—yes, I am sorry to say a love triangle exists—and would have been perfect if not for how the tender story between Marguerite and one of her beaus is belittled by the presence of the second one.

My least favorite part about the story is how the author conveniently breaks her own rules about how traveling between these multiverses works, and how some of the rules apply to everyone except Marguerite (Sorry, a bit too convenient!) The silliest instance was the fact that Marguerite could perfectly recall all the languages her host spoke, but could not remember how to waltz. The thing is, Marguerite needed a romantic moment with a gallant Russian officer, so the rule was tossed out of the window so he could get cozy with her.

In spite of these few faults, I enjoyed the book, enough to give book two a try in the future.

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird Book 1)

Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father’s killer through multiple dimensions.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

We Love YA Books!

We are a community of YA authors, readers and bibliophiles. We read and review good books for teens, searching for the best young adult reads!


Want to post your own reviews?

Login or create an account!
After you sign up, read on how to post content.

YA Book Blogger Award Winner

alliance of young adult authors

YA scifi, paranormal, dystopian, fantasy books.