Book Reviews, YA/NA
All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Plot
Charactors
Writing Style
Pacing

Summary: A moving, honestly written view of what it's like to suffer with mental illness.

5

Book Review

This book is heart wrenchingly beautiful. It is an honestly written view of what it’s like to suffer with mental illness. I read over some other reviews and I know people have disliked the book because of how the other people in their lives treat the characters, how they fail them. Unfortunately. the truth is that this happens. While the truth sucks, that doesn’t make this book any less of a masterpiece.

While it’s getting more acceptable to talk about, Mental illness still carries a stigma. There are so many people out there, who have never experienced it so simply do not understand that it’s not something that can simply be dismissed.

Do you know how many times I’ve heard people say ‘Just get over it’  ‘Just be happy’ ‘I get sad sometimes too” to other people? It’s appalling. It’s not their fault that they don’t understand, it’s a societal thing. I’ve seen attempted suicides where the people in their turn around and claim the person was “only doing it to get back at me”.

Let me tell you many people have gotten a piece of my mind for their comments. It’s ignorance like this that needs to be tackled first and foremost because any changes can be made.

Even people who claim to understand, often don’t really not unless they’re going through it, or have been, or have been with someone who has gone through it.

This is why Finch becomes the person to help Violet. He understands and this makes him the perfect person to help her, only he doesn’t have anyone to truly help him in return. His family dismisses his illness as ‘just the way he is’ and he doesn’t get the treatment he has needed for so long.

This book is heartbreaking is so many ways. I think it’s truly an eye opener to the world around us. I believe everyone needs to read this book. It’s sad, but truly a piece of magic.

 

Happy Reading!

All The Bright Places


“A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe.”–Justine Magazine

New York Times bestseller

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

“At the heart—a big one—of “All the Bright Places” lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” 
 — New York Times Book Review 

“…this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters—or her audience.”
— Entertainment Weekly 

From the Hardcover edition.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

We Love YA Books!

We are a community of YA authors, readers and bibliophiles. We read and review good books for teens, searching for the best young adult reads!

Search

Want to post your own reviews?

Login or create an account!
Close
*
*
After you sign up, read on how to post content.

YA Book Blogger Award Winner


alliance of young adult authors

YA scifi, paranormal, dystopian, fantasy books.

freebooks

paid2read32

promote