Best Books List, Fairytale Retellings, Fantasy, YA/NA
Top Ten Young Adult Fantasy Romance Novels for Summer

Top Ten Young Adult Fantasy Romance Novels for Summer

Summer reading is the perfect activity for the young and young at heart. Speaking of hearts, here are some of my favorite YA Fantasy Romance books from the past few years in no particular order.

Take a look and let me know in the comments if I’m missing out on your favorites!

1. Witch Song by Amber Argyle

This is a delicious and homey mix of creativity and reimagined tropes. In some ways it felt like going home, back to where my passion for swords and sorcery began. Lots of danger, suspense, a dash of mystery, and some sweet romance—this is the kind of book that made me fall in love with the genre. Plus, there is a dog!

2. The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis

This is a suspenseful read perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and and George R.R. Martin who are looking for something a little cleaner. I read this in high school and actually gave my best friend a complete play-by-play of the whole trilogy because I couldn’t wait for her to finish it. And she was a captive audience the whole time. It’s that good! I love Rema and Darmik’s romance and I practically devoured this series and the spinoff series and I can’t recommend it enough!

3. Sora’s Quest by T.L. Shreffler

While this is more of a slow burn romance in the first two books, it is SO WORTH IT. Crash and Sora are amazing and this book, full of revenge, romance, and ancient magic, is exactly the sort of book that has made Epic Fantasy my One True Literary Love. IT IS AMAZING.

4. Cornerstone by Kelly Walker

Okay, so I admit that this is the slowest of the slow burn romances I have ever encountered. I did get impatient at parts in this book. Still. Once we meet Torian…I promise there is a reward for the reader who keeps reading!

5. Mark of the Raven by Morgan L. Busse

This is pure amazingness from page #1. Intrigue, politics, dark magic, cursed goddesses, and a hero to melt a heart of marble. Not to mention ASSASSINS perfect for Throne of Glass fans! I preordered the next book before I even finished and I can promise you the series only gets better.

6. Spindle by W.R. Gingell

If you’re in the market for a snarky, sweet, sorcerous summer read, look no further! W.R. Gingell crafts a rich and whimisical world full of “aww” and awesome that had me simultaneously laughing and hanging on the edge of my seat. The banter was biting, the suspense thrilling, and the plot as twisty and turny as tangled thread.

7. Mark of the Mage by R.K. Ryals

When books and magic are both illegal, a scribe with magic might as well have a target on her back. With dragons, a hero too good for the world he lives in, and a delightful cast of human and animal characters, this is a touching and delightful story.

8. Beauty and the Beast by K. M. Shea

K.M. Shea brings her humor, clean romance, and quirky style to a tale old as time. Retold as a story of adventure and prejudice set in a fantasy land lush with magic, assassins, princes, castles, and curses, this is a fresh take on one of the most beloved fairytales in history.

9. Kingdom of Ash and Soot by C. S. Johnson

Cinderella meets Mission Impossible in this snarky, romantic, suspense-filled historical Fantasy from C.S. Johnson. The perfect pick for the more action-oriented reader and the cover is purple, so I admit I was swayed at first sight.

10. You Are Mine by Janeal Falor

You Are Mine is an inspiring tale of a young woman learning she doesn’t have to live on her knees, that not all men are domineering and abusive, and that things can change for the better if you are willing to fight for them. It’s not often that an author’s first book is an amazing book, but Janeal achived the impossible!

BONUS: The Key of Amatahns by Elisabeth Wheatley

The Key of Amatahns was inspired by all the things I love about Young Adult Fantasy and of course I couldn’t keep out the romance I tried. I’m still low-key in love with Saoven, but that’s always been part of what makes storytelling fun!

Reposted from Elisabeth Wheatley’s Website

About the Author

DSC_0116

Elisabeth Wheatley is a fantasy author because warrior princess wasn’t an option. She loves tea and asking questions.

You can join her weekly mailing list here!

 

Load More Related Articles

We love YA books!

We are a community of YA authors, readers and bibliophiles. We read and review good books for teens, searching for the best young adult reads!

YA Book Blogger Award Winner


alliance of young adult authors

YA scifi, paranormal, dystopian, fantasy books.

young adult book reviews

freebooks

paid2read32

promote

Want to post your own reviews?

Login or create an account!
Close
*
*
After you sign up, read on how to post content.
Share This